Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Less Painful Baby Killing: New Utah Abortion Law

Yesterday, Utah became the first state to require that pregnant women at or past 20 weeks gestation be anesthetized before an abortionist can be permitted to torture the unborn baby to death.
"The governor is adamantly pro-life.  He believes in not only erring on the side of life, but also minimizing any pain that may be caused to an unborn child."
-- Jon Cox, Spokesman to Republican Governor Gary Herbert of Utah
For background, click headlines below to read previous articles:

Abortions Outlawed at 20 Weeks in South Dakota

Late-term Abortion Ban Passes in West Virginia

Abortionists Stymied by New Oklahoma & Kansas Laws

Physicians Force New York Times to Admit 22-week Fetus is a Baby!

Also read this Gallup poll: Americans Want Abortion Laws Changed

-- From "New Utah law requires anesthesia for abortions after 20 weeks" by Ed Adamczyk, UPI 3/29/16

Utah now has a law on the books requiring doctors to give anesthesia to abortion patients 20 or more weeks into pregnancy in an effort to reduce pain felt by the fetus.

Republican Gov. Gary Herbert signed the bill, HB 0234, into law Monday. . . .

Republican State Sen. Curt Bramble, sponsor of the bill, said he sought a ban on abortion after 20 weeks but was informed such a bill would likely be tested on constitutional grounds. His bill, which requires that doctors "eliminate or alleviate organic pain to the unborn child," was the next best option, he said.

Proponents of the law say the anesthesia prevents any suffering by the fetus during the abortion procedure. "Pain-capable unborn protection" laws exist in 12 states, although Utah's law is the first to demand that anesthesia is provided.

To read the entire article above, CLICK HERE.

From "Utah governor signs bill requiring doctors to give abortion anesthesia" by The Associated Press 3/28/16

Dr. Sean Esplin of Intermountain Healthcare in Utah said anesthesia or an analgesic would need to go through the woman in order to reach the fetus. Doctors could give a woman general anesthesia, which would make her unconscious and likely require a breathing tube, or a heavy dose of narcotics.

No other U.S. state has passed this same law, said Elizabeth Nash, a policy analyst at the abortion-rights nonprofit Guttmacher Institute. Montana lawmakers passed a similar law in 2015 requiring fetal anesthesia before surgeries, including abortions, performed after 20 or more weeks of gestation, but its Democratic governor vetoed the measure.

Twelve states ban abortions after around 20 weeks of gestation, while a handful of other states give women the option of having anesthesia.

Previous Utah law gave women the choice to have anesthesia during an abortion.

To read the entire article above, CLICK HERE.

From "Utah gov. signs bill requiring anesthesia in certain abortions" by Steph Solis, USA TODAY 3/29/16

The state Senate amended the bill before passing it earlier this month to make sure the anesthesia was not mandated in cases where it could hurt the mother.

. . . supporters of the law say a fetus should be protected if there’s even a chance it can feel pain. [Republican Sen. Curt] Bramble believes the evidence suggesting a fetus can feel pain by 20 weeks outweighs opponents' arguments.

The law makes sense in Utah, he said, where convicts sentenced to death and animals facing euthanasia receive anesthetics.

"We go to extraordinary lengths in Utah to prevent the pain of an individual sentenced to death," he said. "With euthanasia, we make every effort to not inflict pain on that animal....(mandating anesthesia) it is consistent with other policies we have in the state of Utah."

To read the entire article above, CLICK HERE.

Also read Florida Defunds Planned Parenthood, Liberals Fume

And read Indiana Outlaws Killing Disabled, Abortionists Sue