Wednesday, February 02, 2011

Defund Planned Parenthood: New Coalition Launched

Virtually every pro-life organization in America is backing a massive effort to support the U.S. House bills HR 217 & HR 3 to strip taxpayer funding of Planned Parenthood, as well as all taxpayer funding of abortion.

Visit the new website for the premier webcast Thursday, February 3rd at 8:30 PM Eastern, 7:30 PM Central, 6:30 PM Mountain, 5:30 PM Pacific Time.

UPDATE 2/10/11: Congressman says pro-life undercover sting makes up for lack of government oversight

-- From "Groups unite vs. Planned Parenthood" by Sarah Kliff, Politico 2/2/11

The new campaign throws yet another obstacle in the way of already embattled abortion rights supporters, who have so far largely focused their activism on pushing back against H.R. 3. Republicans frame the bill as a way to bar taxpayer funding of abortion, but abortion rights advocates contend that it significantly restricts the definition of “rape” in a way that would curtail women’s rights. [UPDATE 2/2/11: "Rape language" in bill modified accordingly]

That legislation, introduced by Rep. Chris Smith (R-N.J.), is set to be heard in Judiciary Committee’s constitution subcommittee next week.

The new anti-Planned Parenthood campaign, led by Susan B. Anthony List and Live Action, also includes Concerned Women for America, Americans United for Life, 40 Days for Life, Students for Life, the Family Research Council, and New Jersey Right to Life.

To read the entire article above, CLICK HERE.

From "SBA List, Pro-Life Coalition Launch 'Expose Planned Parenthood' Grassroots Campaign and Action Center" posted at Christian Newswire 2/2/11

The website provides a venue for pro-life grassroots activists to urge their Representatives to support the Title X Abortion Provider Prohibition Act [HR 217] aiming to defund Planned Parenthood of the more than $350 million dollars it receives annually under Title X family planning funds. The website will encourage e-mails, phone calls and visits to local Congressional offices and coordinate a national letter to the editor campaign.

"If there is a point where we can say 'this is too much,' this is it," said SBA List President Marjorie Dannenfelser. "The moment for taxpayers to reject their compulsory funding of the exploitation of women has arrived. If this organization doesn't shut down its gruesome business altogether, it should at least operate on its own dime."

To read the entire article above, CLICK HERE.

Also read, Planned Parenthood Caught in Sex Trafficking Sting